Sharing folders

By sharing a folder, you can provide specific access to the documents and subfolders inside it.

πŸ“˜

Note: When you share a folder, the share applies to all files and folders within the shared folder, in what is known as waterfall access.

Adding a folder share

Sharing a folder when adding it

To share a folder when adding it, do the following:

  1. Add the new folder and enter a Name and an optional Description of it.

  2. In the Create New Folder dialog box, select the users, roles and API keys that you want to provide access to the folder in the Share Folder dropdown box. Then click on Access and select the share options you want to provide. You can choose from the following:

    • Read
    • Write
    • Read/Write
    • Read/Write/Delete

    Finally, click Create.

Sharing a folder when editing it

To share a folder when editing it, do the following:

  1. Edit the folder you want to share.

  2. In the Edit page, select the type of share. You can choose one of the following tabs in the Shares panel:

    • Users
    • API Keys
    • Roles

    Then click Add [Type] Shares.

  3. In the Share [Folder] dialog box, select the users, roles and API keys that you want to provide access to the folder in the Share Folder dropdown box. Then click on Access and select the share options you want to provide. You can choose from the following:

    • Read
    • Write
    • Read/Write
    • Read/Write/Delete

    Finally, click Share.

Sharing a folder directly

To add a share to a folder directly, do the following:

  1. In the Inkit web app, click Documents in the left sidebar, and then click the ... menu button beside the folder you want to edit and click Share.

  2. In the Share [Folder] dialog box, select the users, roles and API keys that you want to provide access to the folder in the Share Folder dropdown box. Then click on Access and select the share options you want to provide. You can choose from the following:

    • Read
    • Write
    • Read/Write
    • Read/Write/Delete

    Finally, click Share.

Removing a folder share

To remove a folder share, do the following:

🚧

Removing a share eliminates access to a folder for a given user, API Key or role, which could have repercussions in your existing systems. But it is less dangerous than removing a folder.

  1. Edit the folder you want to remove a share.

  2. In the Edit page, select the type of share. You can choose one of the following tabs in the Shares panel:

    • Users
    • API Keys
    • Roles

    Then click Remove by the name of the user, API key or role that you want to remove.

  3. In the Warning! dialog box, click Confirm.